​Yann Ehrlacher leads historic Lynk & Co Cyan Racing 1-2-3 to double points lead


Yann Ehrlacher claimed his first FIA World Touring Car Cup victory for Lynk & Co Cyan Racing, leading home a historic first 1-2-3 for the team at Zolder in Belgium. Yvan Muller finished second and Santiago Urrutia third.

The strong result has brought Yann Ehrlacher to the top of the drivers' championship and Lynk & Co Cyan Racing to the top of the teams' championship.

"I'm just so happy to claim my first victory for the team and to lead the championship. We just did a better job than the others this weekend. I had a really strong pace in the race. It's fantastic to give the team this result after all of their hard work ahead of the season," said Yann Ehrlacher.

Thed Björk had a mixed weekend, claiming the first podium finish of 2020 for the team in the first race, but was forced to retire from the second race when he was pushed into a tyre stack.

"The second race is not so much to say about, I got pushed into a tyre stack and had to retire due to the damage. But the first race was really good with a solid podium in the opening race of the year. I'm also really happy to see my team-mates score so strongly in the final race which promises well for the coming races," said Thed Björk.

Yvan Muller's race weekend was the other way around, with eighth place in the first race and second place in the final race.

"This second place is like a victory for me. It's quite fantastic to share the podium with Yann and Santiago in our first 1-2-3. We still have some work to do on the race pace, but this is a really good start to the season," said Yvan Muller.

Newcomer Santiago Urrutia made a solid debut for Lynk & Co Cyan Racing, finishing on the podium in the final race.

"I am super happy to finish on the podium in my first WTCR race with Lynk & Co Cyan Racing. We showed that we are strong as a team this weekend. We need to keep this up as we have a really tough and intense season ahead of us," said Santiago Urrutia.

Yann Ehrlacher heads the standings on 43 points, seven points ahead of Honda driver Néstor Girolami.

Cyan Racing Lynk & Co (Ehrlacher/Muller) heads the team standings on 74 points, 22 points ahead of Cyan Performance Lynk & Co (Björk/Urrutia).

The next WTCR race weekend takes place at the legendary Nürburgring Nordschleife on September 24-26.

Standings - Drivers
1 Yann Ehrlacher 43 points
2 Néstor Girolami 36 (-7)
3 Yvan Muller 31 (-12)
4 Santiago Urrutia 28 (-15)
5 Gilles Magnus 25 (-18)
6 Thed Björk 24 (-19)

Standings - Teams
1 Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 74 points
2 Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 52 (-22)
3 All-Inkl.com Münnich Motorsport 40 (-34)
4 Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport 39 (-35)
5 Engstler Hyundai 20 (-54)

About Cyan Racing
Cyan Racing was founded in 1996 and was formerly named Polestar until Volvo Cars acquired the performance section and trademark in 2015. Cyan Racing is privately owned and operated. The team has claimed the last three touring car World titles, most recently the 2019 WTCR team title with Lynk & Co – and participated in the development of the Polestar performance models of the Volvo S60 and V60 in the years 2013 to 2015, including the concept models Volvo C30 and S60 Polestar Concept Prototype.

About Lynk & Co
Lynk & Co is the new global urban mobility brand addressing the needs and preferences of the connected generation and challenging auto industry conventions. Its products are designed and engineered in Sweden and will be sold globally.

​Lynk & Co Cyan Racing crowned World Champions in Macau
Lynk & Co Cyan Racing were crowned team World Champions in the 2023 TCR World Tour season finale - the ninth World Title of the Swedish outfit in just...
Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Racing crowned TCR China teams' champions in Macau
Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Racing secured the teams' title in an epic season finale at the Guia circuit in Macau, with the efforts from all five drivers...
Tom Oliphant closes TCR Australia campaign with Bathurst adventure
Tom Oliphant has ended his maiden season in the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series as the 2023 rookie champion after a battling performance during the...