​Yann Ehrlacher strengthens WTCR lead with Hungaroring victory


Yann Ehrlacher has extended his FIA World Touring Car Cup points lead after claiming his third victory of 2020 for Lynk & Co Cyan Racing.

The 24-year-old heads the standings on 169 points, 22 points ahead of Honda driver Esteban Guerrieri. "One win, a podium and an increased points lead is something I am quite pleased about. We knew this was not going to be our weekend, so to come away with this result is really strong," said Yann Ehrlacher.

Yvan Muller has climbed to third position overall after securing a Lynk & Co Cyan Racing 1-2 with Yann Ehrlacher in the second race.

"It's a great result for Lynk & Co Cyan Racing and a good effort by everyone in the team. It was tough races and we have fought hard, something we no doubt need to continue for the final races," said Yvan Muller.

Hungaroring marked the first weekend of 2020 that Santiago Urrutia headed to a circuit he had raced on before and the Uruguayan secured a strong fourth place finish in the second race.

"I got a puncture in the final race, but other than that I am very happy with my pace and the performance of the team. We have together scored good points for the championship and that is what's most important," said Santiago Urrutia.

Thed Björk had a tough weekend, fighting from the back of the grid in all three races after a difficult qualifying session.

"It was very hard to fight from the back of the grid. It's not been the best of weekends for me but we are going to keep fighting, all the time," said Thed Björk.

Lynk & Co Cyan Racing is on top of the teams' championship with 283 points, 30 points ahead of Honda team Münnich Motorsport.

The penultimate round of the 2020 FIA WTCR season takes place at Motoland Aragon in Spain on November 1st.

FIA WTCR Race of Hungary

Standings - Drivers 1 Yann Ehrlacher 169 points 2 Esteban Guerrieri 147 (-22) 3 Yvan Muller 114 (-55) 4 Néstor Girolami 106 (-69) 5 Jean-Karl Vernay 106 (-69) ... 10 Thed Björk 78 (-91) 12 Santiago Urrutia 68 (-101)

Standings - Teams 1 Cyan Racing Lynk & Co 283 points 2 All-Inkl.com Münnich Motorsport 253 (-30) 3 Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport 192 (-91) 4 Cyan Performance Lynk & Co 146 (-137) 5 All-Inkl.de Münnich Motorsport 139 (-145)

Media contact Johan Meissner Press Manager Cyan Racing +46(0)70 241 3234 johan.meissner@cyanracing.com

About Cyan Racing Cyan Racing was founded in 1996 and was formerly named Polestar until Volvo Cars acquired the performance section and trademark in 2015. Cyan Racing is privately owned and operated. The team has claimed the last three touring car World titles, most recently the 2019 WTCR team title with Lynk & Co – and participated in the development of the Polestar performance models of the Volvo S60 and V60 in the years 2013 to 2015, including the concept models Volvo C30 and S60 Polestar Concept Prototype.

About Lynk & Co Lynk & Co is the new global urban mobility brand addressing the needs and preferences of the connected generation and challenging auto industry conventions. Its products are designed and engineered in Sweden and will be sold globally.

​Lynk & Co Cyan Racing crowned World Champions in Macau
Lynk & Co Cyan Racing were crowned team World Champions in the 2023 TCR World Tour season finale - the ninth World Title of the Swedish outfit in just...
Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Racing crowned TCR China teams' champions in Macau
Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Racing secured the teams' title in an epic season finale at the Guia circuit in Macau, with the efforts from all five drivers...
Tom Oliphant closes TCR Australia campaign with Bathurst adventure
Tom Oliphant has ended his maiden season in the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia Series as the 2023 rookie champion after a battling performance during the...