Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co expand to three cars for Macau


Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Motorsport will add CTCC race winner Jason Zhang to the squad ahead of the 67th Macau Grand Prix, joining WTCR race winner Ma Qing Hua, and 2018 Macau Touring Car Cup winner Sunny Wong.

Although Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Motorsport has been outnumbered in the previous three events at Zhuzhou, Tianma and Jiangsu, Ma has shown great pace and strong race craft by scoring multiple wins and podiums.

Now Ma will arrive at the TCR China championship finale on November 20-22 at the Macau Grand Prix leading the drivers' championship.

Ma Qing Hua said:

"There's been intense racing and many back-to-back rounds, so in a way this year's TCR China championship season is not much easier than the WTCR, but this proves that the Lynk & Co 03 TCR is engineered and built to a world-class level.

"Its reliability, engine power, or cornering ability, are all very well-balanced and I feel I can always push a little bit more without overcooking. In the previous rounds, we were outnumbered by our rival with only two cars vs. four.

"Now arriving at Macau, the finale, with an additional car and new team-mates Jason and Sunny, I am sure this line-up will add more firepower to our red army."

Sunny Wong will drive the #29 Lynk & Co 03 TCR, and is a longstanding member of the team, and knows what it takes to win in Macau, following his pole-to-win performance in the 2018 Macau Touring Car Cup.

Jason Zhang will drive the #36 car. Zhang was born in 1994, and won the Asia Formula Renault Championship when he was 15. Ever since then, Zhang has been racing in formula cars, touring cars, and GTs. His achievements at such a young age made him a recognised athlete and racer. In 2008, he was also appointed as one of the Beijing Olympic Games torch bearers.

Zhang has also shown he's competitive on the streets of Macau. He snatched pole position in the 2017 Macau GP - Chinese Racing Cup, but unfortunately a mechanical failure cost him victory while in the lead of the race.

Shell Teamwork Lynk & Co Motorsport is responding to the competition by sending a top-level line-up to the 67th Macau Grand Prix weekend. as it battles for the TCR China drivers' championship.

In previous years as a privateer operation, Teamwork Motorsport has achieved much success in Macau, and this year the team raises the bar and steps up to race against fierce rivals in top-level touring car racing.

‚ÄčLynk & Co Cyan Racing nets double FIA TCR World Tour win in frantic Mid-Ohio races
Lynk & Co Cyan Racing netted two wins and a total of four podium finishes in a frantic FIA TCR World Tour weekend at Mid-Ohio in the USA.
Lynk & Co Teamwork Motorsport win in Shanghai as the title battle heats up
David ZHU scored a brilliant victory in the second race of the weekend at Shanghai, with the team also putting two cars on the podium in the first race to...
Teamwork Motorsport starts 2024 TCR China season with a 1-2
Lynk & Co Teamwork Motorsport has had a successful start to its 2024 campaign and leads the drivers' and teams' standings after a 1-2 finish and podium...